Home / FOOTBALL / AFCON 2018: NFF Makes U-Turn Opens Camp For Beach Soccer Team

AFCON 2018: NFF Makes U-Turn Opens Camp For Beach Soccer Team

Few weeks to the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations the Nigeria Football Federation NFF has asked the Supersand Eagles to resume camp at the Aivoji Beach, Badagry outside Lagos ahead of next month’s games. 

The 2018 Beach Soccer AFCON scheduled to kick off on December 8th-14th in Cairo, Egypt will serve as the qualifying tournament for the 2019 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup which will be hosted by Paraguay as the Supersand Eagles came within a place in the semi finals of the 2011 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in Ravenna, Italy before losing in extra time to Brazil.

Two –time African champions Nigeria will join Cote d’Ivoire, Libya, Madagascar, Morocco, Senegal, Tanzania and Egypt at the African championships .

Head Coach of the Supersand Eagles, Audu Ejo Adamu told thenff.com on Wednesday that he has called to camp 20 players he believes will compete keenly to make the final list of 12 players that would do Nigeria proud at the championship.

“Nigeria is a force in beach soccer on the African continent and that means any team we send to the continental championship must be able to live up to the high expectation of Nigerians.

“We will make the best use of the camping program and pick players who would fight for the pride of the country when the championship starts on December 8.”

Nigeria won the 2007 and 2009 African Beach Soccer Championships, and finished as runners –up in 2008, 2010, 2011 and 2016.

The last edition of the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations was held in Lagos, Nigeria in December 2016 and also served as the qualifying tournament for the 2017 FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup in The Bahamas. Senegal won the tournament, with Nigeria finishing as runners –up. Both teams represented Africa in The Bahamas.

Coach Adamu has called usual suspects Paul Dami Danjuma (Katsina United), Emeka Ogbonna (Leeds United, Lagos), Abu Aziz (Rangers International), Suleiman Ogodo (Nasarawa United), Victor Tale (Kogi United) and Emmanuel Ohweferia (Owibeseb FC, Lagos), but there are also Joshua Enaholo (former Flying Eagles’ goalkeeper, now with Abia Warriors FC), Arome Isah (Kogi Confluence), Clement Ogosi (Leeds United, Lagos), Michael Tyson (Iganmu FC, Lagos), Kabiru Balogun (Nasarawa United), Godwin Zaki (Rangers International), Eric Dufegha (Katsian United), Nwagua Nyima (Kano Pillars), Taiwo Adams (Owibeseb FC, Lagos), Hammed Kareem (Owibeseb FC, Lagos), Pascal Eze (Delta Force), Ayomide Iluyomade (Abia Comet), Haruna Sanusi (NYSC FC, Sokoto) and Femi Friday (SEC FC, Abuja).

About Admin

Ola John is a Media and Communication Arts, Masters in view fellow, a graduate of Theatre Arts from the University of Abuja respectively, has been in journalism right from his school days. He was a sports broadcaster with Osun state Broadcasting Corporation (OSBC). He was Sports Editor, Daily Stream Newspaper A lover of grassroots sports development and golf. A strong supporter of Arsenal FC.

Check Also

Supersand Eagles Thrashed Libya, Ready For Tanzania Test

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.