Home / Breaking News / Super Eagles To Know 2019 AFCON Foes Today

Super Eagles To Know 2019 AFCON Foes Today

Nigeria’s Super Eagles will today know their group opponents at the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations finals to hold in Cairo, Egypt.

The Draw Ceremony for the 32nd edition it is scheduled to take place behind the famous Giza Pyramids.

Gernot Rohr’s side qualify for the Africa showpiece as winners of Group E in the qualifying series with 13 points having won 4 drew 1 and lost 1 respectively.

The team will be making their18th appearance after a 6-year absence since 2013 when they emerged champion in South Africa.

Meanwhile, host nation Egypt, Cameroon, Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria, Morocco have all been announced by the Confederation of African Football ( CAF) as top seeds.

It is the biggest Africa Cup of Nations finals in the history of the competition, due to feature 24 teams, as against three teams that took part in the first edition of the competition in Sudan 62 years ago.

Hosts Egypt (who have also won the competition the highest number of times – seven), Cameroon (five –time winners and Cup holders), Nigeria (three –time winners), 2004 champions Tunisia, Senegal and 1976 champions Morocco are the seeded countries in the draw.

Egypt is also the country to have taken part the most in the championship, as she countenances a 24th appearance, while Cote d’Ivoire is heading to a 23rd show and Ghana will be making a 22ndappearance. Tunisia will make a 19th appearance

The 32nd Africa Cup of Nations will hold 21st June – 19th July 2019, in six venues: Cairo International Stadium; Borg El-Arab Stadium, Alexandria; Suez Stadium; Air Defence Stadium; Ismailia Stadium and; Al Salam Stadium.

A total of 14 countries, of the 54 member –nations of CAF, have won the AFCON trophy, namely: Egypt, Cameroon, Ghana, Nigeria, DR Congo, Cote d’Ivoire Algeria, Ethiopia, Sudan, South Africa, Tunisia, Morocco, Congo-Brazzaville and Zambia.

Six other countries have reached the final without ever winning it: Mali, Burkina Faso, Uganda, Guinea, Libya and Senegal.

Pot 1: Egypt (hosts), Cameroon (holders), Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria, Morocco

Pot 2: Democratic Republic of Congo, Ghana, Mali, Ivory Coast, Guinea, Algeria

Pot 3: South Africa, Uganda, Benin, Mauritania, Madagascar, Kenya

Pot 4: Zimbabwe, Namibia, Guinea-Bissau, Angola, Tanzania, Burundi


About Admin

Ola John is a Media and Communication Arts, Masters in view fellow, a graduate of Theatre Arts from the University of Abuja respectively, has been in journalism right from his school days. He was a sports broadcaster with Osun state Broadcasting Corporation (OSBC). He was Sports Editor, Daily Stream Newspaper A lover of grassroots sports development and golf. A strong support of Arsenal FC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.