Home / ATHLETICS / Volleyball: Team Nigeria Storm Abidjan for 2019 All Africa Games qualifiers

Volleyball: Team Nigeria Storm Abidjan for 2019 All Africa Games qualifiers

Nigeria men’s volleyball team has landed Abidjan for the 2019 All Africa Games qualifiers.

A 17-member team led by Nigeria Police Force player, Daniel Nathaniel who doubles as the captain left Abuja on Thursday night for Côte d’Ivoire.

Nigeria boasts of three foreign players which includes; Arinze Nwachukwu (Fernabache of Turkey), Samuel Ogwuche (Asaria of Libya) and Uchenna Ofoha (CVM of Germany).

Other home based players to watch out for are; Izu Nwachukwu (Plateau Rocks), Afun Idowu (Ondo Spikers), Sebon David (NSCDC) and Prince Anyasodike (Immigrations).

 The team will be tutored by coach of Niger Brass, Japhet Nuhu; coach of Police Force, Taiwo Oladipupo and COAS Spikers coach, Elishama Elam.

The president of Nigeria Volleyball Federation, Engineer Musa Nimrod said he believes Nigeria can qualify for the 2019 All Africa Games in Morocco.

He said, “I believe the boys will win, the spirit is high. The boys are charged and they have been able to appreciate the situation they found themselves and are also happy. The players are willing to lay their lies for Nigeria on the court when the battle begins”.

Nimrod further said, “There are two tickets for grab in our zone but I am interested in the first ticket not the second ticket.

 “A lot of countries do not know some of these new boys in the team but they are fantastic. Nigeria volleyball players in Diaspora are willing to play for the fatherland and this is a wonderful development.  Currently in the team, we have Canada based Uchenna Ofoha who will play in Abidjan.

 I have been informed that a female Nigeria player who plies her trade in Greece is ready to represent Nigeria.

The Zone 3 Men’s All Africa Games Qualifiers from 17th to 25th May, 2019 in Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire.

Full list


1 Daniel Nathianel (Captain)

2 Patrick Davou



3 Ibrahim Adamu

4 Afun Idowu

Middle Blockers:

5 Izu Nwachukwu

6 Moses Gana

7 Arinze  Nwachukwu

8 Uche Ofoha

Side Spikers:

9 Samuel Ogwuche

10 Sebon David

11 Ogunshina Abayomi

12 Princewell Okoi


13 Prince Anyasodike

14 Morris Dikiya.


Japhet Nuhu

Taiwo Oladipupo

Elishama Elam

About Admin

Ola John is a Media and Communication Arts, Masters in view fellow, a graduate of Theatre Arts from the University of Abuja respectively, has been in journalism right from his school days. He was a sports broadcaster with Osun state Broadcasting Corporation (OSBC). He was Sports Editor, Daily Stream Newspaper A lover of grassroots sports development and golf. A strong support of Arsenal FC.

One comment

  1. Asking questions are really fastidious thing if you are not
    understanding something completely, however this post provides nice understanding

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.