Home / Breaking News / Shortlisted Eagles Stars Deserves 2019 Africa Best Player Award – Pascal

Shortlisted Eagles Stars Deserves 2019 Africa Best Player Award – Pascal

By @Vjwale

Nigeria’s Super Eagles coordinator, Pascal Patrick, said the shortlisted Eagles players for the 2019 CAF best XI deserves to win the Africa Best Player of the year Award. 

Earlier, former Nigeria international Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi, Wilfred Ndidi and Francis Uzoho were shortlisted for the 2019 Caf best XI.

The Nigerian quartet could be rewarded for their superlative performance this year, having been nominated for the continent’s best XI.

Pascal told LEADERSHIP sports, that the shortlisted Eagles stars has displayed impressive performance for both club and country hence they deserved the Africa best player of the year award which was since won by a Nigerian (Nwankwo Kanu) in 1999. 

“All the Super Eagles players that was shortlist in the 2019 Caf best XI deserved to win the 2019 Africa best player of the year award to due to their performance for both club and country” he said. 

“Ighalo was the highest goal scorer during the qualification campaign and scored five goals to win the Golden Boot of 2019 AFCON show he deserved the award”

“Iwobi, Ndidi, and  Uzoho also helped Nigeria clinch the eighth bronze medal in Egypt and they are playing very well and consistently for their clubs”. 

Pascal who doubles as the Bauchi state FA chariman started that the nomination will further encourage and boost others players to put up impressive performance always.

“With this nomination it will boost the confidence of all the players in the national team to put up theor best performance anytime they are been call upon to play because we have a young side who are bend to do the nation proud” he concluded. 

The Caf best XI will be announced in a ceremony on January 7, 2020.

About Admin

Check Also

I Never Regretted Missing France 1998 World Cup – Pascal

Follow me on twitter : @vjwale Ex-international star, Patrick Pascal, has revealed that he never …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *